Halloween Sugar Cookies!

Standard

These cookies are a labour of Love.  They do take quite a bit of time but they are so worth the effort when they are done!  These are the cookies that I used for Steven’s Birthday bash this weekend and his Grave Yard Cake https://theplaidandpaisleykitchen.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/graveyard-cake-and-surprise-happy-birthday/

I use Martha Stewart’s Sugar Cookie recipe for all my sugar cookies.  I have been using it for years and it really is the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever used.  I am a bit of a Groupie…… I mean really who doesn’t love all things Martha?? I couldn’t really consider myself a True Preppy Girl if I didn’t, right?

4 cups AP flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 cup unsalted butter room temp

2 cups sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

In a mixer blend sugar and butter till creamy and fluffy.  Mix in eggs and vanilla.  Gradually add in flour and baking powder.  Mix till combined and dough is formed.  Divide dough in half and form 2 disks wrap in cling film (saran wrap) and chill overnight. (or at least 1-2 hrs) I like to make my dough one day and cut out and bake the next.  With my busy schedule this seems to work best for me.  When you are ready to bake. Take the dough out of the fridge for 10-15 min and let rest.  Pre Heat oven to 325.  Lightly flour your rolling surface and roll out dough to 1/4 inch thickness.  Cut out shapes.  For this party I made, Candy Corn, Pumpkins, Tombstones, Ghosts, Coffins.  Only re roll your scraps once or you will over work the dough and they will be tough and not as tasty.  Bake the shapes for 15 min. Cool on a wire rack.  Once the cookies are completely cool you can frost them.  For these cookies I used Ashley at Kitchen Meets Girl’s recipe. http://www.kitchenmeetsgirl.com/

3 cups powder sugar

6tbs milk

6tbs corn syrup

1/2 tsp almond flavoring

1 tsp vanilla flavoring

Combine all in a mixer. Divide into batches and tint to the colors you plan on using. (use Gel food coloring or you will thin the frosting out too much with the liquid kind)  This is a bit unwieldy to work with, but once you get the hang of it you will love it.  The trick is to use a bottle to apply it.  You know those Ketchup and Mustard plastic bottles that you can keep refilling, yeah use that!  She forgot to tell me that little trick and the first time I used it I called her crying and screaming How do you control this Stuff?!! It was EVERYWHERE!!!!!  She laughed and goes “oh yeah it is really messy. Use a bottle.”  Now you would have thought I could have thought of that myself….. But it was one of those days.  Needless to say she is still one of my best friends! I first outline the cookies to make a dam.  Let that dry about 30 min.  Then you can flood the middles.  I had every intention of making the Tombstones more decorative and write names on them.  These were for a surprise birthday party and I did not have the time I needed before I had to stash them away.  Even though they were not as “fancy” as I would have liked them to be they still were great and the party went off without a hitch!!!

About the plaid and paisley kitchen

I am just like you, a modern woman juggling life, family, work, and always struggling to find time to work on my hobbies. As the wife of a very picky eater with very definitive likes and dislikes, (Mostly misconceptions of what something may taste like.) I can honestly say that every recipe on here is “Stevie Approved!” I am the Great-Granddaughter of German immigrants and I learned to cook in my mother’s and grandmother’s kitchens. As I grew and gained experience in my own kitchen I took the lessons I learned and branched out and started new traditions mixed with Old World styling. I was raised by a very artistic and talented mother, and if I inherited just a tad of her abilities then I consider myself very lucky. In primary and secondary schooling I was always heavily involved in art and drama. I still have a great passion for the theater. I think that a household should have a healthy dose of dramatic flair. I feel that food should be prepared with quality and fresh ingredients, and that meals should be served with love. I believe a home should be comfortable and beautiful at the same time, and that an organized home is a happy home!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

